A 365 Day Project

Day 24/365 : Portrait of my Youngest

I took this photo in the bricks & arches at Newcastle Beach after the boys had finished scooting around the skate park. In contrast to Kyle, Ethan was not entirely happy about the intrusion. He wanted his photo taken, but only as he attempted to mar my efforts in photographing his brother! Eventually I coerced him into sitting still for about 30 seconds!

I have spent quite a bit of time on this pic in post processing. His face was quite shadowed and the light from the ocean side was actually a bit distracting and was drawing the eye away from my boy.  I have taken some advice I received on my last portrait and tried to use lighting to get more focus on Ethan’s face. This is a big step up for me in the processing area, so would love your feedback.

Cheers, Kim.

Ethan : Nikon D70; f5.3; 1/400; ISO 200

2 responses

  1. Great decision to reduce the expose of the background. Bright sand would have killed this image.

    In my opinion his face is at least 1/2 a stop under still. Another little trick for you is bring out his eyes a little more as well. Try a little more contrast and then really blow out the catch lights (eye highlights). This will bring more life into this nice pose.

    I am really noticing a good improvement in your images. Keep it up.

    January 29, 2011 at 5:52 pm

    • Thanks Doug. I will give that a go and see what I can manage. Cheers, Kim.

      January 29, 2011 at 7:15 pm

Leave a Reply

